Related News
Media release by Department of Defence: Testing of the Chief of the SANDF reaction capability .
Media advisory by the Department Of Defence: Movement of SANDF vehicles and troops participating in Exercise Young Eagle
The International Military Sport Council (CISM) Day Run: 09 March 2012

Army support base Eastern Cape held a medal parade

11 April 2012
By Lufuno Netshirembe
Photos by WO1 Yvonne Bezuidenhout (ASB EC Communication office)

The Eastern Province Command unit currently known as Army support base Eastern Cape (ASB EC), led by Colonel N.A. Ndou held a medal parade on 30 March 2012. The General ASB EC was established in April 2000, after the closing down of the Eastern Province Command. The Army Support base is the biggest unit in the Eastern Cape with different divisions on its premises.

The medals were awarded to recipients in Tshumelo Ikatelaho, for 20 and 10 years of loyal service respectively. The President awarded the Tshumelo Ikatelaho, instituted on 27 April 2003 by warrant dated 16 April 2003.

The Tshumelo Ikatelaho medals were awarded to WO1 J. Gouws, S Sgt A. Lombard, Sgt T. Pace, Cpl V. Xokoloshe, Cpl B. Nchokoche, Pte D. Damana, Pte T. Tshaka, Pte B. Singqomo, Pte A. Rossouw, Pte N. Majola and Pte Y. Mrwebi.

The 20 years of Service medals were awarded to Wo1 N. Nobatyi, SSgt L. Lobese, S Sgt S. Nqabeni, Cpl M. Javu and Pte L. Tsotsi

The 10 years of Service medals were awarded to S Sgt J. Jordan, S Sgt Y. Mute, S Sgt C. Adams, S Sgt C. Jansen, Sgt G. Mafu, Sgt Mlenzana, Sgt L. Sidondi, Cpl N. Dingela, Cpl P. Jacob, Pte L Matomane, Pte L. Sikweza, Pte D Cairncross, Pte Z. Baba and Pte Vellen.

In his speech Col Ndou congratulated the recipients of the medals. He commended them for being exemplary in executing their duties with diligence and loyalty to the SANDF. He encouraged other soldiers to emulate these soldiers.

Col Ndou, Officer Commanding of the Army Support Base Eastern Cape, stands ready to decorate the medal recipients with their well-deserved medals.

Col Ndou hands the certificate of appreciation to retired Mr D.T. Smith who served in the SANDF from 16 March 1982 to 31 March 2012.

Col Ndou, seated at the centre, with the parade guests, members of the ASB EC and some of the recipients of the medals standing.