Bravery Awards
Merit Awards
Good Service Medal
Campaign Medal
Mention in Dispatches
Unitas Medal
Order of Mapungubwe
Order of Companions of O.R. Tambo
Order of the Baobab

Order of the Baobab

The Order is awarded to South African Citizens for distinguished service. The service is well beyond the ordinary call of duty. It is an award for exceptional and distinguished contributions in the following categories:

  • The Struggle for democracy.
  • Building democracy and Human relations.
  • Nation building.
  • Peace and security.
  • Journalism, literature, arts, culture sport and music.
  • Business and the economy.
  • Science, medicine and technological innovation.
  • Community service.

This Order can be awarded in three Classes:

  • Class 1 Supreme Counsellor of Order of the Baobab
  • Class 2 Grand Counsellor of the Order of the Baobab
  • Class 3 Counsellor of the Order of the Baobab